:

Is Salesforce a Great Place to Work? -

Wednesday, June 26, 2019

Is Apple a Great Place to Work? -

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

Do I want to work at Adobe? -

Wednesday, June 12, 2019

NVIDIA, why work here? -

Friday, June 7, 2019

Manager Instructional Technology at George Washington University -

Thursday, October 4, 2018

5 Highest Paying Business Development Manager Jobs in New York -

Monday, July 23, 2018

What kind of Business Development
Jobs are in Los Angeles?
-

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

QVC , On Air Program Host Job for 3rd Largest Ecommerce Company -

Monday, March 26, 2018

Facebook has over 1700 Jobs: Here is How to Get a Job at Facebook -

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

Nielsen Why You Want to Work at this Digital Transformation Organization -

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Why You Want a Job at Twitter -

Monday, February 5, 2018

How fast is this Blockchain thing going to take over? -

Friday, February 2, 2018

Should You Work at HBO or Netflix? -

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Why Working at Hearst is Much Better than Houghton Mifflin Harcourt -

Friday, January 26, 2018

What Will Making a VR Game While in Virtual Reality be like? -

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Why You Want to Work at Snapchat -

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Why You Want to Get a Job at Vogue Magazine: -

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Is it Better to work at Buzzfeed or The New York Times? -

Friday, January 12, 2018

LeBook Business Development Job for Trend Setter -

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Executive Editor Job at Philadelphia Gay News -

Friday, November 10, 2017

Making Job Search Easier by Finding the Great Companies First

Find a
JOB
Title/Keywords Company Name
City, state or zip (optional)
 

Big implications for smartphone market in Apple verdict

Apple’s recent victory over Samsung in its patent dispute has increased pressure on the manufacturers of smartphones all over the world to design handsets which can stand up to the iPhone and offer consumers choice in a market worth approximately $219.1 billion.

A jury decided Apple would get $1.05 million in damages after finding Samsung had infringed 6 patents on mobile devices, a crushing defeat for Apple’s largest competitor in the smartphone market.

After the verdict

The verdict will strengthen Apple’s position as it tries to discourage its competitors from manufacturing devices similar to the iPhone.  An analyst at Yankee Group, Carl Howe, says that while the verdict is a blow for Samsung and their software partner Google Inc. and their efforts to challenge Apple, he believes that the outcome will be a greater range of devices and a lot more options for consumers as competitors try to avoid expensive legal tussles.  “This is a big win for Apple,” Howe notes.  “It’s good for innovation.

It says that if you create something new, others can’t just piggyback on it.  From a competition point of view, it says create your own stuff.  Copying is not okay.”

Appealing future

Howe’s opinion is not shared by many others, however, and nor is the verdict by any means the end of the fight.  Samsung are expected to ask US District Judge Lucy Koh to overturn the verdict of the jury and will appeal the case if she refuses.  “Today’s verdict should not be viewed as a win for Apple but as a loss for the American consumer,” Samsung spokeswoman Mira Jang says, whose message is the direct opposite of Howe’s.  “It will lead to fewer choices, less innovation and potentially higher prices.”

Toronto-based International Data Corporation analyst Kevin Restivo agrees that the gap between that verdict and reality is enormous, saying that Samsung is not likely to surrender the market leadership of smartphones or mobile advertising to Apple.  Many others have noted that the jury failed to follow instructions, strengthening Samsung’s right to overturn or appeal the verdict.

 

Image courtesy of Apple

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.